LSE - Small Logo

  • Latest Posts
  • LSE Authors
  • Choose a Book for Review
  • Submit a Book for Review

Bookshop Guides

Lse review of books, the latest social science books reviewed by academics and experts, latest posts, is artificial intelligence racist the ethics of ai and the future of humanity – review, february 14th, 2024.

london review of books calendar 2022

Q and A with Caroline Derry on Agatha Christie, lesbians and criminal courts

February 13th, 2024.

london review of books calendar 2022

The Infrastructural South: Techno-Environments of the Third Wave of Urbanization – review

February 12th, 2024.

london review of books calendar 2022

Limitarianism: The Case Against Extreme Wealth – review

February 8th, 2024.

london review of books calendar 2022

Seven recommended reads for LGBT+ History Month 2024

February 5th, 2024.

london review of books calendar 2022

Incomplete Conquests: The Limits of Spanish Empire in the Seventeenth-Century Philippines – review

January 31st, 2024.

london review of books calendar 2022

Language and the Rise of the Algorithm – review

January 16th, 2024.

london review of books calendar 2022

Understanding Humans: How Social Science Can Help Solve Our Problems – review

January 30th, 2024.

london review of books calendar 2022

A Theory of Everyone: Who We Are, How We Got Here, and Where We’re Going – review

January 29th, 2024, climate crisis.

london review of books calendar 2022

A Just Energy Transition: Getting Decarbonisation Right in a Time of Crisis – review

February 6th, 2024.

london review of books calendar 2022

Escape from Model Land: How Mathematical Models Can Lead Us Astray and What We Can Do about It – review

November 30th, 2023.

london review of books calendar 2022

Q and A with Jonathan White on In the Long Run: The Future as a Political Idea

January 24th, 2024, gender and sexuality.

london review of books calendar 2022

Care Without Pathology: How Trans- Health Activists Are Changing Medicine – review

February 1st, 2024, science and tech.

london review of books calendar 2022

The Quickest Revolution: An Insider’s Guide to Sweeping Technological Change, and Its Largest Threats – review

January 25th, 2024.

london review of books calendar 2022

Global Language Justice – review

January 23rd, 2024.

london review of books calendar 2022

The best bookshops in the Dodecanese Islands, Greece

November 23rd, 2023.

london review of books calendar 2022

The best bookshops in Montreal, Canada

October 16th, 2023.

london review of books calendar 2022

The best bookshops in Dublin, Ireland

September 6th, 2023, author interviews.

london review of books calendar 2022

Five years of LSE Press: Q and A with Patrick Dunleavy and Sarah Worthington

November 1st, 2023.

london review of books calendar 2022

Q and A with Matilde Rosina on The Criminalisation of Irregular Migration in Europe: Globalisation, Deterrence, and Vicious Cycles

October 4th, 2023, reading lists.

london review of books calendar 2022

Eight of the best books of 2023, recommended by LSE blog editors

December 20th, 2023.

london review of books calendar 2022

LSE RB year in review: The 12 most-read posts of 2023

December 19th, 2023, subscribe to our newsletter.

LSE Review of Books Banner Image

Funded by the Higher Education Innovation Fund (HEIF)

Book Review: Crimes Unspoken: The Rape of German Women at the End of the Second World War by Miriam Gebhardt

Follow us on X

Follow us on.

london review of books calendar 2022

Explore our sister blogs

london review of books calendar 2022

Explore all our blogs

london review of books calendar 2022

Jump to navigation Skip to content

Search form

  • P&W on Facebook
  • P&W on Twitter
  • P&W on Instagram

Find details about every creative writing competition—including poetry contests, short story competitions, essay contests, awards for novels, grants for translators, and more—that we’ve published in the Grants & Awards section of Poets & Writers Magazine during the past year. We carefully review the practices and policies of each contest before including it in the Writing Contests database, the most trusted resource for legitimate writing contests available anywhere.

Find a home for your poems, stories, essays, and reviews by researching the publications vetted by our editorial staff. In the Literary Magazines database you’ll find editorial policies, submission guidelines, contact information—everything you need to know before submitting your work to the publications that share your vision for your work.

Whether you’re pursuing the publication of your first book or your fifth, use the Small Presses database to research potential publishers, including submission guidelines, tips from the editors, contact information, and more.

Research more than one hundred agents who represent poets, fiction writers, and creative nonfiction writers, plus details about the kinds of books they’re interested in representing, their clients, and the best way to contact them.

Every week a new publishing professional shares advice, anecdotes, insights, and new ways of thinking about writing and the business of books.

Stay informed with reports from the world of writing contests, including news of extended deadlines, recent winners of notable awards, new contest announcements, interviews with winners, and more.

Find publishers ready to read your work now with our Open Reading Periods page, a continually updated resource listing all the literary magazines and small presses currently open for submissions.

Since our founding in 1970, Poets & Writers has served as an information clearinghouse of all matters related to writing. While the range of inquiries has been broad, common themes have emerged over time. Our Top Topics for Writers addresses the most popular and pressing issues, including literary agents, copyright, MFA programs, and self-publishing.

Our series of subject-based handbooks (PDF format; $4.99 each) provide information and advice from authors, literary agents, editors, and publishers. Now available: The Poets & Writers Guide to Publicity and Promotion, The Poets & Writers Guide to the Book Deal, The Poets & Writers Guide to Literary Agents, The Poets & Writers Guide to MFA Programs, and The Poets & Writers Guide to Writing Contests.

Find a home for your work by consulting our searchable databases of writing contests, literary magazines, small presses, literary agents, and more.

Subscribe to Poets & Writers Magazine for as little as $1.67 per issue

Poets & Writers lists readings, workshops, and other literary events held in cities across the country. Whether you are an author on book tour or the curator of a reading series, the Literary Events Calendar can help you find your audience.

Get the Word Out is a new publicity incubator for debut fiction writers and poets.

Research newspapers, magazines, websites, and other publications that consistently publish book reviews using the Review Outlets database, which includes information about publishing schedules, submission guidelines, fees, and more.

Well over ten thousand poets and writers maintain listings in this essential resource for writers interested in connecting with their peers, as well as editors, agents, and reading series coordinators looking for authors. Apply today to join the growing community of writers who stay in touch and informed using the Poets & Writers Directory.

Let the world know about your work by posting your events on our literary events calendar, apply to be included in our directory of writers, and more.

Subscribe to Poets & Writers Magazine for as little as $1.67 per issue

Find a writers group to join or create your own with Poets & Writers Groups. Everything you need to connect, communicate, and collaborate with other poets and writers—all in one place.

Find information about more than two hundred full- and low-residency programs in creative writing in our MFA Programs database, which includes details about deadlines, funding, class size, core faculty, and more. Also included is information about more than fifty MA and PhD programs.

Whether you are looking to meet up with fellow writers, agents, and editors, or trying to find the perfect environment to fuel your writing practice, the Conferences & Residencies is the essential resource for information about well over three hundred writing conferences, writers residencies, and literary festivals around the world.

Discover historical sites, independent bookstores, literary archives, writing centers, and writers spaces in cities across the country using the Literary Places database—the best starting point for any literary journey, whether it’s for research or inspiration.

Search for jobs in education, publishing, the arts, and more within our free, frequently updated job listings for writers and poets.

Establish new connections and enjoy the company of your peers using our searchable databases of MFA programs and writers retreats, apply to be included in our directory of writers, and more.

Subscribe to Poets & Writers Magazine for as little as $1.67 per issue

  • Register for Classes

Each year the Readings & Workshops program provides support to hundreds of writers participating in literary readings and conducting writing workshops. Learn more about this program, our special events, projects, and supporters, and how to contact us.

The Maureen Egen Writers Exchange Award introduces emerging writers to the New York City literary community, providing them with a network for professional advancement.

Find information about how Poets & Writers provides support to hundreds of writers participating in literary readings and conducting writing workshops.

Subscribe to Poets & Writers Magazine for as little as $1.67 per issue

Bring the literary world to your door—at half the newsstand price. Available in print and digital editions, Poets & Writers Magazine is a must-have for writers who are serious about their craft.

View the contents and read select essays, articles, interviews, and profiles from the current issue of the award-winning Poets & Writers Magazine .

Read three decades of essays, articles, interviews, profiles, and other select content from Poets & Writers Magazine .

View the covers and contents of every issue of Poets & Writers Magazine , from the current edition all the way back to the first black-and-white issue in 1987.

In our weekly series of craft essays, some of the best and brightest minds in contemporary literature explore their craft in compact form, articulating their thoughts about creative obsessions and curiosities in a working notebook of lessons about the art of writing.

The Time Is Now offers weekly writing prompts in poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction to help you stay committed to your writing practice throughout the year. Sign up to get The Time Is Now, as well as a weekly book recommendation for guidance and inspiration, delivered to your inbox.

Every week a new author shares books, art, music, writing prompts, films—anything and everything—that has inspired and shaped the creative process.

Watch videos, listen to audio clips, and view slideshows related to articles and features published in Poets & Writers Magazine .

Ads in Poets & Writers Magazine and on pw.org are the best ways to reach a readership of serious poets and literary prose writers. Our audience trusts our editorial content and looks to it, and to relevant advertising, for information and guidance.

Start, renew, or give a subscription to Poets & Writers Magazine ; change your address; check your account; pay your bill; report a missed issue; contact us.

Peruse paid listings of writing contests, conferences, workshops, editing services, calls for submissions, and more.

Poets & Writers is pleased to provide free subscriptions to Poets & Writers Magazine to award-winning young writers and to high school creative writing teachers for use in their classrooms.

Read select articles from the award-winning magazine and consult the most comprehensive listing of literary grants and awards, deadlines, and prizewinners available in print.

Subscribe to Poets & Writers Magazine for as little as $1.67 per issue

  • Subscribe Now

London Review of Books

  • Printable Version
  • Log in to Send
  • Log in to Save

Twitter logo

Since 1979, London Review of Books has focused on protecting and promoting the tradition of the literary and intellectual essay in English. Each issue contains essays, book reviews, poems, an exhibition review, "short cuts," letters, and a diary. For book reviews, they look at both unsolicited submissions and proposals.

Contact Information

Podcasts & Videos

  • Newsletters

London Review of Books

More search Options

  • Advanced search
  • Search by contributor
  • Browse our cover archive

Browse by Subject

  • Arts & Culture
  • Biography & Memoir
  • History & Classics
  • Literature & Criticism
  • Philosophy & Law
  • Politics & Economics
  • Psychology & Anthropology
  • Science & Technology
  • Latest Issue
  • Contributors
  • About the LRB
  • Close Readings

What now for Ukraine?

W hen ​ General Valery Zaluzhny, then Ukraine’s senior military commander, spoke in November of a stalemate, it was widely taken in the West as a signal that the war was frozen in all but name: that Ukraine and Russia had reached their fighting limits, that Russia could invade no further and Ukraine could liberate no more. Ukraine’s southern summer counteroffensive had fallen far...

The intermittence of Western arms money is not the Ukrainian military’s only problem as it organises to do three things: hold Russia at bay this year, push it back in the medium term, and create an impregnable defence for an indefinite future truce. Alongside the lack of money to fund weapons is the lack of weapons to buy.

James Vincent

T he legend ​ goes like this. In the spring of 1562, the 16-year-old prince Don Carlos of Asturias, grandson of the Holy Roman Emperor and heir to the Castilian throne, lay dying. The prince had been chasing a maid down a flight of stairs when he fell and hit the back of his head. He was taken to bed, weak and feverish, and his condition quickly deteriorated. His wound became infected, his...

Artificial life could be both mechanical and magical. The term ‘automaton’, referring to a self-moving machine, was first used in Europe in 1531 in a catalogue of magic, De Occulta Philosophia . Automata are listed as a type of ‘celestial magic’, a category which includes maths, music, astronomy and mechanics.

Florence Sutcliffe-Braithwaite

In the 1980s, Alex Comfort said that anarchism had been the ‘background to all my thinking’; but although The Joy of Sex , his most influential work by far, centred the individual and individuals’ responsibility to one another, it did little to seed anarchist ideas. Perhaps if it had been more radical it wouldn’t have sold more than twelve million copies.

Alex Comfort became best known for The Joy of Se x (1972). This annoyed him. It was his 31st book. As well as a sexologist, he was a poet, novelist, doctor, biologist, gerontologist, anarchist, scientific humanist, public intellectual, and activist in the pacifist and anti-nuclear movements. Even as a child, Comfort was a polymath.

Red Sea Attacks

Laleh khalili.

O n ​ 19 November , a helicopter operated by the Houthi-controlled Yemeni navy hovered over the vehicle carrier Galaxy Leader , which was passing through the Red Sea south of Jeddah. Masked and armed men rappelled down to the deck, raised Yemeni and Palestinian flags, and directed the ship to the nearby port of Hodeida. Galaxy Leader has remained there ever since, becoming a selfie hotspot and a...

Maritime insurance companies have increased the war risk premium on ships travelling through the Red Sea from $10,000 for a $100 million cargo ship in early September to $1 million by mid-January. The volume of cargo passing through the Suez Canal has fallen by 45 per cent.

Hegel gets real

Terry eagleton.

Hegel’s dissatisfaction with the revolutions he surveys comes down in almost every instance to their otherworldliness or estrangement from reality, whether we are speaking of Jesus or Robespierre, ancient Athenian philosophers or modern Kantians. 

For Hegel, the actual contains the possible, so that you can plunge into it with no fear of losing sight of a desirable alternative. You don’t need to tack some arbitrary utopian dimension onto what exists, since what exists already secretes within itself the seeds of what ought to be.

On Mary Magdalene

Marina warner.

A lmost ​ every woman in the story of Jesus is called Mary. Sometimes the writers of the gospels got round this by adding a patronymic or a husband (Mary Salome, Mary of Cleophas, Mary Jacobi). The Virgin Mary has a stable identity as the mother of Jesus, but at least one document (attributed to Cyril of Jerusalem) bundled all the Marys into one. More commonly, the Marys have combined and then...

Devotees often exult in the stripping of her beauty and her wealth; she is imagined as a woman of substance, who owned property in Magdala (hence her name), and when she repents and gives all this up, her reduction becomes the source of great satisfaction to the worthy men who love her in spite of – or because of – their general suspicion of and contempt for women.

In the latest issue

22 february 2024.

  • Marina Warner: On Mary Magdalene
  • Terry Eagleton: Hegel gets real
  • James Meek: What now for Ukraine?
  • Aziz Huq: Short Cuts
  • Mark Ford: ‘Lunar Solo’
  • Barbara Everett: Henry and Hamlet
  • Diarmaid MacCulloch: Jesuit Methods
  • Laleh Khalili: Red Sea Attacks
  • James Vincent: Automata
  • Ben Walker: On VAR
  • Ferdinand Mount: Fans and Un-Fans
  • Florence Sutcliffe-Braithwaite: Mr Sex
  • Francis Gooding: At the Imperial War Museum
  • Lorraine Daston: Linnaeus makes the rules
  • Colin Kidd: Constitutional Dramas
  • Michael Wood: At the Movies
  • Lola Seaton: On A.K. Blakemore
  • Keiron Pim: Diary

Think Differently

Subscribe to the LRB – perfect for anyone with an interest in history, politics, literature and the arts.

‘The Zone of Interest’

Michael wood.

J onathan Glazer’s ​ Zone of Interest seems stately at first, even stolid, and a bit too restrained to raise real questions. Once it’s over we realise that its discretion is part of a careful, risky plan. ‘Based on the novel by Martin Amis’, as a credit line says, the film converts a cruel virtuoso performance of literary voices into a sort of belated act of espionage....

It’s not that the locals are in denial about what is going on in the camp. Everyone seems to have incorporated the horrors as real but ignorable aspects of regular existence. Höss and Hedwig not only tolerate Auschwitz. It fails to touch their happiness in any way.

In Mostyska

I n spring ​ 2019 I stood in a meadow outside the small Ukrainian town of Mostyska, squinting at a transliteration of the Mourner’s Kaddish on my phone. A local farmer had directed my guide towards a couple of stubs of rock, the only remnants of dozens of gravestones that had long ago been removed for use as building materials. Brown hens pecked at the grass. It was impossible to tell...

It was impossible to tell where my ancestors were buried or the location of the mass grave containing five hundred of the town’s Jews, shot in 1942. But few descendants of the Ostjuden who visit Eastern Europe in search of their roots expect more than this; a good result is finding that a supermarket hasn’t been built on top of your relatives.

Losing San Francisco

Rebecca solnit.

S eeing cars ​ with no human inside move through San Francisco’s streets is eerie enough as a pedestrian, but when I’m on my bicycle I often find myself riding alongside them, and from that vantage point you catch the ghostly spectacle of a steering wheel turning without a hand. Since August, driverless cars have been available as taxis hailed through apps but I more often see...

I don’t know whether these billionaires know what a city is, but I do know that they have laid their hands on the city that’s been my home since 1980 and used their wealth to undermine its diversity and affordability, demonise its poor, turn its politicians into puppets and push its politics to the right. 

O n ​ the baseball fields of America in the first half of the 20th century Bill Klem was the law. As an umpire between 1905 and 1941 he worked eighteen World Series. His nickname was the Old Arbitrator, and the decisions he made were absolute. He is said to have been the first umpire to communicate to the crowd in the stands as well as the players on the field. He didn’t just announce...

Despite the mistakes, video assistant refereeing works. A 2020 study showed that overall decision accuracy improved with the use of VAR from an already high 92.1 per cent to 98.3 per cent. So what’s all the fuss about? Part of the problem is that although the right decisions are being reached more often, it doesn’t feel like they are.

Trump’s Indictments

I n ​ the 1920 US presidential election, Eugene Debs, or Convict 9653, won 913,693 votes while serving a ten-year sentence in a federal prison in Atlanta. ‘Under the influence of this unreasoning mob psychology,’ the editors of the New York Times complained, an ‘acknowledged criminal is nightly applauded as loudly as many of the candidates for the presidency who have won...

Trump’s misdeeds have been amply documented through two impeachment proceedings, extensive congressional investigations, Mueller’s final report and endless news coverage. Perhaps the liberal principle of ‘innocent until proven guilty’ is at work. If so, it is having distinctly illiberal effects.

Linnaeus makes the rules

Lorraine daston.

Linnaeus accepted the evidence of the astonishing specimens sent to him from far and wide as well as what the microscope revealed of the life teeming in a drop of water. The same Linnaeus who made short work of hydras and unicorns embroidered his own field notes with fanciful mythological references.

Linnaeus’s personal contradictions do not make him a historical chimera. If he sounds odd to those who hold a view of Enlightenment science as rational and orderly, perhaps that’s because real Enlightenment science was a great deal weirder than that.

At the Imperial War Museum

Francis gooding.

There is a great deal of modern British military history that the IWM simply cannot present to the public, except in adumbrated form. War might be hell, but with the exception of the Nazis, the people condemned to it are not to be held responsible for its horrors. 

Gaza has been the deadliest conflict for the press on record. The IWM may have arrived at the conclusion that the journalist is a crucial figure for understanding conflict, but only some journalists are afforded that status in the field. Others are regarded as targets.

Fans and Un-Fans

Ferdinand mount.

C arefree: ​ that must be the essence of the sporting idea, whether you are doing it with Amaryllis in the shade, or on the village green with your grandchild Wilhelmine. You are disported, carried off out of yourself. In botany, a ‘sport’ is the wayward offshoot of an otherwise predictable shrub. The definition of ‘a real sport’ is a girl like Catherine Morland, the...

In its modern incarnations, sport is a spontaneous thing, blowing wherever the fans fancy. Even the impulses that have transformed Britain into a nation of joggers and gym bunnies remain mysterious. They certainly do not spring from any Department of National Fitness.

Jesuit Methods

Diarmaid macculloch.

I n the mid-18th century ​ an exceptionally adventurous European traveller might have got as far as a desert region in what is now Arizona, to be rewarded with hospitality from the presiding priest in the stately local mission church. There was likely to have been chocolate to drink, transported from Yucatán some two thousand miles to the south, served in Fr Philipp Segesser von...

What​ was this Society for which Pope Paul III provided a charter? It was not a religious order, though it is often styled as such. Its members were neither monks nor friars. Its self-descriptor as a Societas aligned it with the ‘companies’ or devotional confraternities of priests and laity in late medieval Italy.

From the blog

Think about the nation, skye arundhati thomas.

The Bollywood actor Kangana Ranaut visited the Israeli embassy in Delhi at the end of October for a photo op. ‘Like we deserve a Bharat dedicated  . . .

Necessity or Compulsion?

Eliane glaser.

I have never owned a smartphone. The man in the shop couldn’t understand my refusal. ‘You get one free with your plan,’ he told me. I share  . . .

Harry Stopes

On Friday morning, three dozen people gathered outside the Federal Ministry for Economic Co-operation and Development in Berlin to demand a permanent  . . .

Eyes on Gaza

Selma dabbagh.

At the end of last month I went to an event at the Photographer’s Gallery, where the grandson (and namesake) of the Armenian Gazan photographer  . . .

Sous la plage, les archives

Richard vinen.

Le Roy Ladurie’s fascination with what he referred to in his inaugural lecture at the Collège de France in 1973 as the ‘immobile’ history  . . .

Closed Loops

Mark papers.

I had the feeling, sitting down to my marking after the Christmas break, that I was an unwilling participant in a version of Turing’s game  . . .

Ecuador’s Internal Armed Conflict

Forrest hylton.

Considered since the 1980s to be a peaceful oasis compared to its neighbours Colombia and Peru – in part because of comprehensive land reform  . . .

Why is the US in Jordan and Syria?

Tom stevenson.

Rural fort soldiering is a classic imperial mode, so it isn’t unusual that the US does it in the Middle East, except that so many of the  . . .

Protest, what is it good for?

James butler and thomas jones.

From the Egyptian Revolution to Extinction Rebellion, the 2010s were marked by a global wave of spontaneous and largely structureless mass protests. Despite overwhelming numbers and popular support, most of these movements failed to achieve their aims, and in many cases led to worse conditions. James Butler joins Tom to make sense of the ‘mass protest decade’, sharing historical...

From the Egyptian Revolution to Extinction Rebellion, the 2010s were marked by a global wave of spontaneous and largely structureless mass protests. Despite overwhelming numbers and popular...

Emily Wilson’s translation of the Odyssey, published in 2017, the first into English by a woman, was hailed as a ‘revelation’ by the New York Times and a ‘cultural landmark’ by the Guardian. With her translation of the Iliad, ten years in the making, she has given us a complete Homer for a new generation. In her hands, this thrilling, magical and often horrifying...

Emily Wilson’s translation of the Odyssey, published in 2017, the first into English by a woman, was hailed as a ‘revelation’ by the New York Times and a ‘cultural...

London Review of Books - Subscribe to the LROB at the Lowest Rate Online!

Thirsting for knowledge? Subscribe to the London Review of Books by clicking here!

LRB Blankets

As seen in new york magazine, tea or coffee.

LRB Umbrella - Navy

Featured product

Lrb umbrella - navy.

‘My last encounter with the librarian occurred outside the university at the bus stop waiting for the 24. It began to rain stair-rods. Larkin put up his umbrella. Seeking shelter, and being much smaller, I edged towards him. There were only the two of us there. He looked at me. I smiled and said: “I did enjoy  The North Ship .” He stared down at me and said: “If you think you’re sharing my umbrella you’ve got another think coming.” And with that he pressed the catch on his umbrella so that it folded down closer around his head.’ – Neville Smith, in a letter to the  LRB  responding to Alan Bennett’s review of Andrew Motion’s biography of Philip Larkin (1993)

Wind tunnel tested at 120 km/h Length closed: 29cm Weight: 358g

Shop By Product Type

  • Canvas Bags
  • Binders, Calendars and Diaries
  • LRB Selections
  • LRB Collections
  • Back Issues & Cover Prints
  • London Review of Books Subscription

london review of books calendar 2022

The  London Review of Books  is the perfect magazine for anyone interested in history, politics, literature or the arts. Make sure you subscribe today.

london review of books calendar 2022

Discover our wide range of limited-edition gift boxes, each contains a curated selection of books and gifts.

About the LRB Store

The  London Review of Books   is Europe’s leading magazine of culture and ideas. Published twice a month, it provides a space for some of the world’s best writers to explore a wide variety of subjects in exhilarating detail – from art and politics to science and technology via history and philosophy, not to mention fiction and poetry. In the age of the long read, the LRB remains the pre-eminent exponent of the intellectual essay, admired around the world for its fearlessness, its range and its elegance.

The LRB Store is a new initiative to meet demand, from readers and fans around the world, for authentic  London Review of Books merchandise.

Before now, all of these products were exclusively available from the London Review Bookshop . We wanted to make them available to customers unable to travel to London – although we hope you’ll still pay us a visit, next time you have an opportunity to do so.

  • choosing a selection results in a full page refresh

london review of books calendar 2022

How I used to love and now hate the London Review of Books

Speaking words of wisdom, LRB

I would read the London Review of Books from front to back. I had to read it all, from front to back. I couldn’t miss any part of what I then saw as the absolute requirement of reading the London Review of Books and absorbing all of the information contained in the London Review of Book s (excluding classifieds and incidental advertising about books, copywriters, book-based dating etc). 

I certainly couldn’t dip in and out of the London Review of Books . The London Review of Books told me, so I thought, everything that I needed to know. The best people would provide me with the best information about what I needed to know. It was a joy and my mind expanded and my taste developed and I became a refined intellectual.

I couldn’t read fast enough to keep up

This reading of each and every London Review of Books ended up making me very anxious ; or perhaps, my latent anxiety overwhelmed my joy of reading the London Review of Books . I couldn’t read fast enough to keep up with the bi-weekly production of these reviews of books.

I was reading nothing other than reviews of books in the London Review of Books . I had no remaining time to read the books they were reviews of, nor any other book. I no longer took any joy in the London Review of Books; it simply became a task or duty to read each copy before the next was delivered , and I began to skim read and hated myself for skim reading the London Review of Books , because I loved the London Review of Books .

Copies of the London Review of Books in their cellophane wrapping piled up , and I began to be frightened of them, frightened of the reading demands the London Review of Books was placing on me. 

Eventually I had to stop reading the London Review of Books , and the pile of London Review of Books filled a drawer which I kept entirely for the London Review of Books . I terminated my subscription because I could not accept reading the London Review of Books without reading it front to back (excluding classifieds , and incidental advertising etc). I couldn’t touch a copy for years , and refused offers from friends of their (used and filthy) copies of the London Review of Books ; those friends who couldn’t throw away their own copies due to the high status of the London Review of Books , and its high cost.

This year, after having said how I used to love and now hated the London Review of Books and couldn’t handle my subscription to it and would never want another one, my neighbour subscribed me behind my back and for free to the London Review of Books ; a free gift subscription . They were delivered to my home, now sealed in a paper envelope rather than the cellophane ( environmental responsibility ).

I opened the London Review of Books , the first I had opened for ten years , and prepared myself for a front to back read. I liked how folded it was , and how much better it was to read a fresh copy than the used (filthy) copies which had been pushed on me by friends who primarily wanted to indicate to me that they read the London Review of Books by offering their (used and filthy) copies  — thinking that I respected the London Review of Books and its users. 

I began reading and my attention wouldn’t hold. I skipped ahead and read half of one article, a line of another, a title of another. I tried to read the poetry and I still couldn’t understand a single line of it , and had no will to try.

Whereas before I could only think TJClarkPerryAndersonTariqAliNealAscherson thoughts, now I could think of no such London Review of Book thoughts, not even Mar iaWarnerJohnLanchesterJamesButlerAdam Mar sJones thoughts could enter my brain. My brain could take in no London Review of Books information , and could form no London Review of Books thoughts.

All this learning was in two dimensions

I considered what was wrong. Part of it was that every article was written in a this is how things are tone, all so tasteful and knowledgeable and clever. Yes, I knew that I would learn a lot, but it felt like all this learning was in two dimensions. It was a very narrow field. 

I considered: I had read the London Review of Books in order to belong to the LRB club and the knowledge I had wanted to acquire was wholly in order to become a member of this club. And the way the London Review of Books reviewers write — their style — is that of the self-assurance of a certain sort of group of people who are self-assured , or who want to write and be read among — and be among — those who are self-assured.

I reflected that England is one big private members club , and the LRB is just a part of this club (the letters “ LRB ” being a spoken code to enter that club). I discovered that this LRB club wasn’t in Bloomsbury, but in Hampstead , and I discovered that having been invited to play croquet on Hampstead Heath, in the Hampstead Heath Croquet Association, in which the words “elle are bee” occurred frequently.

I don’t want someone writing to me as if I were a member of their club , or want to be a member of their club. Everything in this country is a private members club, in which cordial agreement, shared references , and a shared picture of the world is required. A shared belief in what are the right views about the right subjects is required. These people — you? — know the facts and know how to pronounce the facts in the right way. Each article, each sentence of the LRB asks: are you a member of our club? aren’t you a member of our club? Club members look down from their vast knowledge, supported by the vast institutions of their education and the vast institutions of their working life. LRB is a performance of Englishness, just as much as the Hampstead Croquet Association is — often attracting performances by those most insecure in their Englishness.

I reject this LRB club and I will not become a member of it and nor will I cancel my free subscription to the London Review of Books .

Enjoying The Critic online? It's even better in print

Try five issues of Britain’s newest magazine for £10

Critic magazine cover

  • English Literature
  • London Review of Books
  • Subscription

What to read next

london review of books calendar 2022

Is the English Lit degree killing love for literature?

Alexander Larman and Graham Stewart discuss the direction of English Literature at universities

london review of books calendar 2022

Democracy without a demos

We have to overcome post-1989 illusions

london review of books calendar 2022

The ascent of Barbara Pym   

A chronicler of the overlooked, she has at last got her just literary deserts

london review of books calendar 2022

Taking Pride

If sexual orientation is not a choice and therefore nothing to be ashamed of, then it can be nothing to be proud of either

london review of books calendar 2022

Rozsa’s regret

Miklos Rozsa: Orchestral works (Capriccio)

london review of books calendar 2022

Escaping Plato’s goon cave

Vision Pro illuminates the telos of modernity and the narrowing of human experience

london review of books calendar 2022

Is it still a wonderful life?

The values Frank Capra celebrated seem to be fading in our times

london review of books calendar 2022

Where does Labour think that wealth comes from?

Keir Starmer has to face the reality of wealth creation

london review of books calendar 2022

Escaping Britain’s low-wage trap

Only sustained wage growth will restore trust in the economy

london review of books calendar 2022

The Plot thins

Everything Dorries encounters proves how right she is

london review of books calendar 2022

Something in the Bath water

Liberal Democrats are ruining a beautiful city with pointless regulations and Remainer spite

london review of books calendar 2022

Why compensate the families of terrorists?

It would be immoral as well as irresponsible

london review of books calendar 2022

Backing horses

Britain should value a homegrown success story

london review of books calendar 2022

Beyond the spires

Oxford is full of architectural riches

This is one of your 3 free articles without registering

For full access, subscribe to The Critic for less than £3 per month.

Already have an account? Log in .

SUBSCRIBE REGISTER FREE

You've reached the end!

Don't worry.

You can register for free to read Artillery Row articles.

Or get full access to The Critic for as little as £3 per month.

REGISTER FREE SUBSCRIBE

Premium access only.

Don't worry. You can continue reading by subscribing to get full access.

london review of books calendar 2022

Language selection

  • Français fr

What you need to know for the 2024 tax-filing season

February 14, 2024

Ottawa, Ontario

Canada Revenue Agency

Millions of Canadians file an income tax and benefit return every year. For the 2023 tax-filing season , Canadians filed more than 32 million tax returns, and more than 92% of them were filed electronically. There were also more than 18 million refunds processed, and Canadians who had a tax refund received an average of $2,262!

To simplify your tax-filing experience, we've compiled what you need to know for this tax-filing season. This includes what’s new on the income tax and benefit return and with the Canada Revenue Agency's (CRA) services. We hope this information helps you file your tax return, so you can receive the benefit and credit payments you may be entitled to.

Important dates

  • February 19, 2024 – This is the first day you can start filing your 2023 tax return online . If you file on paper , you should receive your income tax package in the mail by this date.
  • April 30, 2024 – This is the deadline for most Canadians to file a tax return. By filing your tax return on time, you’ll avoid delays to any refund, benefit, or credit payments you may be entitled to. If you owe money to the CRA, this is also the payment deadline. You’ll avoid late-filing penalties and interest by filing and paying on time. 
  • June 15, 2024 – If you or your spouse or common-law partner are self-employed, this is the deadline to file your tax returns. As this date falls on a Saturday, your return will be considered filed on time if the CRA receives it or it is postmarked on or before June 17, 2024 . If you owe money to the CRA, you'll still need to pay by April 30, 2024 , to avoid interest.

What’s new with our services

Digital Disability Tax Credit (DTC) application form – The CRA has made it faster and easier than ever for persons with disabilities and their medical practitioners to complete the DTC application form, by introducing a new fully digital application process. Applicants can now complete Part A of the application form online in My Account or by phone. This means that they no longer need to print and complete the form by hand, and take it to their medical practitioner. To further simplify the process, the applicant’s portion of the form will be prepopulated with information already on file at the CRA. Once completed, the applicant will receive a reference number to give to their medical practitioner who will use it to complete Part B of the form.

Changes to the T1 notice of assessment – The CRA has made changes to the T1 notice of assessment and notice of reassessment to provide more complete information that is easier to understand. The CRA recently released an updated version of the Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP) table. Due to changes in the production of the cheque notice, if you are expecting a refund and you are not signed up for direct deposit, you will receive a paper T1 notice of assessment and cheque separately . Sign up for direct deposit to avoid waiting for a cheque in the mail.

What’s new on the income tax and benefit return

Income tax package is thinner than usual – Starting in 2024, the CRA will no longer print line-by-line instructions in the paper package. The CRA made this change after hearing feedback from individuals who file on paper. The majority of these individuals confirmed that they rarely use the line-by-line instructions when filing. Instead, they indicated that they rely on information from prior year returns and the “What’s New” section of the income tax package. By making this change, the CRA will reduce each paper package by approximately 30 pages, or about 20%. This also supports the CRA’s commitment to sustainable development and the government's efforts to go green.

Advanced Canada workers benefit – Advanced payments of the Canada workers benefit are now issued automatically under the new Advanced Canada workers benefit to those who received the benefit in the previous tax year. As a result, Form RC201, Canada Workers Benefit Advance Payment Application, was discontinued last year.

Deduction for tools (tradespersons and apprentice mechanics) – Starting in 2023, the maximum employment deduction for tradespersons’ eligible tools has increased from $500 to $1,000. As a result, the threshold for expenses eligible for the apprentice mechanics tools deduction has also changed.

Federal, provincial, and territorial COVID-19 benefit repayments – Federal, provincial, and territorial COVID-19 benefit repayments made in 2023, can be claimed as a deduction on line 23200 of your 2023 return.

First Home Saving Account (FHSA) – The FHSA is a new registered plan to help qualified individuals to save to buy or build a qualifying home. Starting April 1, 2023 , contributions to an FHSA are generally deductible and qualifying withdrawals made from an FHSA to buy or build a qualifying home are tax-free. Notices of assessment will also include a table similar to the RRSP table for the FHSA balances where applicable.

Multigenerational home renovation tax credit (MHRTC) – The MHRTC is a new refundable tax credit that allows an eligible individual to claim certain renovation costs to create a secondary unit within an eligible dwelling so that a qualifying individual (a senior or an adult who is eligible for the disability tax credit) can reside with their qualifying relation. If eligible, you can claim up to $50,000 in qualifying expenditures for each qualifying renovation completed, up to a maximum credit of $7,500 for each claim you are eligible to make.

Home office expenses for employees – The temporary flat rate method used to claim a deduction for home office expenses does not apply to 2023. Therefore, eligible employees looking to claim a deduction for home office expenses for 2023 will be required to use the detailed method and get a completed Form T2200, Declaration of Conditions of Employment , signed by their employer.

Residential Property Flipping Rule – Starting January 1, 2023 , any gain from the disposition of a housing unit (including a rental property) located in Canada, or a right to acquire a housing unit located in Canada, that you owned or held for less than 365 consecutive days before its disposition is deemed to be business income and not a capital gain, unless the property was already considered inventory of the taxpayer or the disposition occurred due to, or in anticipation of, certain life events.

Return of fuel charge proceeds to farmers tax credit – The Return of fuel charge proceeds to farmers tax credit is now available to self-employed farmers, or to individuals who are members of a partnership operating a farming business with one or more permanent establishments in Alberta, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, or Saskatchewan. 

Are you a podcast person?

You can check out our new podcast: Taxology . We simplify the world of taxes, since it can be confusing!

We’ll help you understand Canadian taxes, including how to prepare for tax season, explain different savings accounts to help kick-start your savings, and introduce you to the platform economy.

Learn more about the Canadian tax system

We have a free online learning tool to help you understand what taxes are, how to do them, and what’s in it for you. We want to empower people to do their own taxes and to make sure they know about the benefit and credit payments they could be eligible for. We have 5-minute lessons, fun quizzes, and quick videos on everything you need to know.

Take advantage of digital services and online filing

Registering for  My Account and having full access lets you manage your tax affairs online. This includes updating personal information, including your address, marital status, and phone number. You don't need to call the CRA to make these changes.

When it comes to filing your tax return,  online filing  is a great option. To file online, the CRA has a list of  NETFILE-certified tax software  products that are easy to use, fast, and secure, some of which are free!

When you have full access to My Account and file online with NETFILE-certified software, you’ll be able to use the following services:

  • Auto-fill my return which allows you to automatically fill in parts of your income tax and benefit return with information that the CRA has available at the time of the request. This service can retrieve information from the current year and seven years prior.
  • Express NOA which allows you to view your notice of assessment (NOA) in your certified tax software and in My Account, immediately after the CRA receives and processes your return.

If you combine online filing with direct deposit , you could get any refund you’re owed in as little as eight business days. Paper returns aren’t as fast, and it could take up to eight weeks to process them.

Available Services

There are services available that can provide you with support, and help you file your tax return and understand your tax obligations, including:

  • Community Volunteer Income Tax Program (CVITP) – If you have a modest income, a simple tax situation, and require assistance, a CVITP volunteer may be able to do your taxes for free. To find a clinic, please visit our  Free tax clinics  page. If you live in Quebec, please visit the  Income Tax Assistance – Volunteer Program  page for more information.
  • Liaison Officer Service – If you are self-employed or own a small business, you can learn more about your tax obligations by booking a meeting with a liaison officer . This service is free and 100% confidential.

Keeping your information safe and secure

There are ways to protect yourself from scams and fraud. One way is by knowing how the CRA might contact you. Take a moment to visit our  Scams and fraud  page, where you will find information to help you recognize the signs of a scam and learn about the ways the CRA may contact you, including by phone or mail.

More resources

  • Need help getting started? Go to  Get ready to do your taxes  for a list of what you need to know before you file your taxes.
  • The Taxes and benefits for Indigenous peoples page offers information about tax filing, as well as benefits and credits for Indigenous Peoples. Visit this webpage for helpful tips, resources and guides to help answer your questions about First Nations, Inuit and Métis taxes.
  • For answers to frequently asked questions about filing a tax return, go to  Questions and answers about filing your taxes .
  • Charlie the chatbot is also available on the CRA homepage and many of our other webpages on Canada.ca.

Media Relations Canada Revenue Agency 613-948-8366 [email protected]

Page details

  • International edition
  • Australia edition
  • Europe edition

mary-kay wilmers

Is the LRB the best magazine in the world?

T he offices of the London Review of Books are situated on the top two floors of a Georgian townhouse in the shadow of the British Museum. To reach them, you either brave the claustrophobically small lift or walk up five flights of brown-carpeted stairs, before emerging in a light-filled room containing a scattering of terrifically bright people sitting at computers, surrounded by piles of books and an air of quiet industry.

The windows on one side of the large open-plan room overlook the nurses' accommodation for the nearby University College Hospital, where someone has left a carton of orange juice to chill on a window ledge. The LRB 's editor, Mary-Kay Wilmers, likes this view. She enjoys "seeing what the nurses get up to". On the other side, the windows overlook a fine Hawksmoor church spire, with carved heraldic symbols of a lion and a unicorn at its base. Wilmers doesn't have as much time for this. Most people would proffer some admiring blandishment about architectural style – but not Wilmers. "They're too fat," she sniffs at the stonework animals. And looking at them, it's hard not to concede that they are, indeed, a bit flabby.

The opposing London vistas, and Wilmers' reaction to them, seem to sum up her approach to editing what is now deemed to be the most successful literary publication in Europe. At 75, Wilmers retains both an insatiable curiosity about people (the nurses) and a healthy disregard for received opinion (the church). Both qualities course through the pages of the London Review of Books which, under her 22-year editorship, has become a highly regarded publication with an influence that extends far beyond the rarefied world of small-circulation literary magazines.

LRB79

Founded in 1979, after the Times Literary Supplement was closed by a year-long industrial dispute, the LRB has a circulation of 64,038 (by comparison, according to 2013 Audit Bureau of Circulations figures, the Spectator has a circulation of 62,581 and the New Statesman of 28,495). The website attracts 575,000 visitors a month and there are a further 2,000 Kindle subscribers. At a time when most print publications are losing readers, the LRB 's circulation is going up.

Partly, this is to do with the commissions. Alongside the usual run of densely typed book reviews, arts criticism, authors' diaries and classified advertisements offering writers' retreats in the Peloponnese, Wilmers has made a feature of the long-form essay. The essay, usually penned by a leading author and often running to well over 10,000 words, with barely a concession to the fanciful modern desire for accompanying photographs or illustration, has become the LRB 's forte. These are the pieces that consistently challenge orthodoxy and take delight in a well-constructed argument; that dare to say things the rest of us might be thinking or that simply reveal something interesting or curious.

One of her recent favourites, says Wilmers, was a piece on "the language of bribery". At its best, the LRB long-form essay is clever, mischievous, fascinating and fluent. At its worst, it might go on a bit.

"I think there's an awful lot of short opinion around," says Wilmers, "and it's quite nice to find an argument in a piece that isn't just stated."

She is sitting in a small corner room on a sofa upholstered in countrified pale-green and red stripes. For unexplained reasons, there is an abandoned iron and an Anglepoise lamp on the floor that Wilmers had to step over, somewhat shakily in ballet pumps, to get to her seat. She is a small woman with a striking face and shrewd eyes. Her physical appearance is elegant but economical, crafted with the same precision as a judiciously edited sentence.

Does she think, in a modern, media-driven world where opinions are increasingly reduced to soundbites of 140 characters or fewer, that there is a thirst for longer-form writing?

"I think that must, to some extent, be the case because otherwise, why would we be doing so much better than other papers?" And it is true that, over the past year, the London Review of Books has found itself in the unusual position of being the centre of rather a lot of attention. There was a recent public spat concerning the lack of female reviewers in its pages , but much of the interest has been generated by the introduction of a Winter Lecture series – speeches delivered by writers in person on a particular topic and then printed at full-length as an essay in the magazine.

Hilary Mantel did one in February 2013, in which she called the Duchess of Cambridge "a shop-window mannequin" . The Daily Mail promptly featured the "attack" on its front page and David Cameron was moved to comment that Mantel was "completely misguided and completely wrong".

LRBohagan

When James Meek analysed the housing market in the pages of the LRB in January ("A housing shortage that has been building up for the past 30 years is reaching the point of crisis"), it triggered a national debate. The current issue carries an extraordinary 26,000-word piece by Andrew O'Hagan on his failed attempt to ghost the WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange's memoir , which was trending on Twitter before copies even hit the news-stands. The next issue features classicist Mary Beard's lecture on "the public voice of women", which has already caused a splash following her assertion that women who speak up in the public sphere are "treated as freakish androgynes".

Does she enjoy the controversies generated by the magazine? Her lips twitch into an almost-smile. Her eyes, below the silver fringe of her bobbed hair, crinkle at the corners. "I don't un-enjoy it," she replies carefully. She says she "never, ever would have predicted" the fall-out generated by the Hilary Mantel piece. "If you read the whole thing, it's really not… there's not much of an issue there. She was feeling sorry for her [the Duchess of Cambridge] more than anything."

What about the piece written in 2007 by Booker-prize winner Anne Enright concerning the parents of Madeleine McCann ("I was angry at their failure to accept that their daughter was probably dead. I wanted them to grieve") or Mary Beard writing in the immediate aftermath of 9/11 that America "had it coming"?

"'People will say America had it coming' is what she said!" Wilmers corrects impatiently. "Well, everybody said we would have bombs put through our letterbox." And did they? "No. It just caught on and it obviously touched a nerve because there were people who presumably did think that."

This is, in many respects, a key part of the LRB 's ethos: it provides a space in which intelligent people can think differently; in which discomfiting thoughts can be voiced and provoking arguments can be aired with enough room to breathe.

The writer Marina Warner, who is one of the magazine's contributing editors, compares the LRB 's pages to "a lively discussion among engaged people… I like its range – and its boldness in allowing different views and strong opinions, and the length of the pieces allows for developing arguments and laying out evidence." Andrew O'Hagan agrees: "The paper is enquiring, funny, political, ambivalent, and filled with a sense of risk."

Wilmers sees the LRB as an antidote to the sameness of opinion in the rest of the media. "Newspapers say the same thing over and over again and we're all horrified and collectively up in arms and there's normally more than one side to something," she says. "So if you hear somebody saying something coherent and intelligent that's not totally out of order, it's interesting to read it."

Twitter, with its emphasis on instant reaction and opinion-forming cliques is, she thinks, part of the problem. "Why do people feel compelled to agree with everybody? It would be quite nice if there was slightly less outrage about the same things all the time."

LRBmary2

Is Wilmers on Twitter? "No," she says and then immediately contradicts herself: "I mean, yes, I am. I've only ever been on once, when Jenny Diski asked me to do something."

Her Twitter avatar, rather confusingly, is the image of a fresh-faced young woman. "That's my god-daughter, Flora Neve," she says sternly. No further explanation is forthcoming and I suddenly feel rather foolish for asking.

For all its success, the London Review of Books struggles to make money. It owes its continued existence to the generosity of Wilmers herself, who regularly siphons in cash from a family trust fund. Her German father was the founder of a multinational utilities company and her ancestors on her mother's side were Russian Jews who included the psychoanalyst Max Eitingon and Leonid Eitingon, a Stalinist agent responsible for masterminding the assassination of Leon Trotsky. Wilmers was born in Chicago, raised in New York, then moved with her family to Brussels aged nine and was sent to boarding school in England.

Did she like boarding school?

[Deadpan] "It was better than Brussels."

Having grown up abroad, does she feel like an outsider?

"You mean, do I feel foreign?" A pause. "When it suits me."

The family money means the LRB never has to worry about paying back its loans – in January 2010, the magazine was estimated to be £27m in debt to the trust. And yet it still manages to pay its writers at a base-rate of 30p a word (rising by a considerable margin if the article is longer than average). The fee for O'Hagan's piece on Assange was rumoured to be in five figures. Marina Warner says that payment is always processed quickly "and generously, by comparison with other papers".

Is it sustainable, I ask the LRB 's publisher, Nicholas Spice? He looks vaguely shocked at the suggestion. "Oh no, it's not sustainable in financial terms," he says.

Spice has a pleasantly straightforward manner and a faintly military demeanour. He is the kind of man you suspect would be incapable of telling a lie, even though sometimes he probably should. "It loses a lot of money," he continues cheerfully. "The most important thing is that it has always had very generous support from its shareholders. And we've had the same shareholders since 1980, which is very unusual – I should think unprecedented – for a literary publication or arts organisation. The great thing is that we have been able to invest in creating a market for a very good editorial product."

The LRB has made inroads in other areas – there is a nearby London Review of Books bookshop, and a popular cake-shop that serves rosebud tea and gluten-free pistachio cakes – but even these, according to Spice, are only "near to breaking even".

"The great thing about the bookshop is it gives the magazine a location," Spice says, still looking on the brightest possible side, "and it's very good for our relations with publishers."

LRB94

The seeming lack of financial constraint means that the LRB can be run in a charmingly old-fashioned, semi-shambolic manner. There is, admits Wilmers, "an element of whim" to each issue. Writers are not given much of a deadline – "we're not too fussy about time, then after a few months the piece comes in" – and the editors take a great deal of care over the copy. Every fact is checked and proofs are sent back to the writer with suggestions and queries and then, says Wilmers: "there's all that awful stuff about spacing and line-breaks, which I'm sure nobody notices, but we do".

Many of the writers have never met the staff and Wilmers herself has acquired a healthy degree of mystique.

"I've never met Mary-Kay Wilmers," says Adam Mars-Jones , a regular contributor, "and by the end of last year had come to think that was a good thing. If she liked my writing it seemed a bit rash to think she might like me as well."

The magazine goes to press on Friday night and the staff are often there into the early hours. Until recently, they ordered in supper from a local Indian restaurant much favoured by Wilmers. But she went on holiday a few weeks ago and returned to find that her staff had staged a silent coup and were getting their food from Ottolenghi instead. She doesn't like it as much. "Perhaps," she says, fiddling with the hem of her silk blouse, "it's just because I think, 'How dare they!'"

She's joking. I think.

One of the criticisms levelled at the LRB is that it can occasionally seem cosseted from the real world, run by an exclusive coterie of literary-minded north Londoners who don't have to worry about anything so vulgar as the bottom line. Wilmers is an established part of the liberal-leaning Primrose Hill intelligentsia: she was married to the film director Stephen Frears (the couple divorced in the 70s and have two sons, Sam and Will) and used to live next door to the biographer Claire Tomalin and her husband, the writer Michael Frayn. The playwright Jonathan Miller was down the road. Her best friend from Oxford (where she read modern languages) is Alan Bennett.

When I put this to her, Wilmers blinks. "Does everybody live in north London?" she asks herself, before going through a mental checklist of contributors and staff. "John Lanchester doesn't," she announces triumphantly. Spice says that most of their readers come from N and NW postcodes. Anywhere else?

"Clapham," he replies briskly.

But the LRB 's tendency to pluck writers from the same limited pool of contributors has a more serious knock-on effect: they have consistently struggled to publish as many women as men, for instance. In 2013, they used 43 female book reviewers compared to 195 male, according to figures compiled by the American literary organisation Vida . The Paris Review , by contrast, achieved a 50/50 parity of men and women, while the New York Times book review published 725 women and 894 men. It is not just the review pages: over its history, the LRB has published 82% of articles by men and just 18% by women.

The issue was recently aired in a discussion on Open Book on Radio 4. The LRB declined to participate and issued a rather imperious statement claiming that the inequality in their pages was regrettable but reflected a wider discrimination in an imperfect world. The statement included a quote from Wilmers, given in a 2001 interview on the same subject: "I think women find it difficult to do their jobs, look after their children, cook dinner and write pieces," Wilmers said at the time. "They just can't get it done. And men can… They're not so frightened of asserting themselves. And they're not so anxious to please."

LRBmeek

Listeners were duly enraged by the intimation that female writers were too busy scrubbing dishes to use their critical faculties. When I ask Wilmers about the episode, she visibly braces. "Obviously, over the years I've been discriminated against plenty," she says. "It started when I finished university and was told to go and learn to write shorthand by the Oxford 'head of women's appointments'. So, obviously, I know what it's like. I know what the problem is. And all I can say is that we hope to do better, we hope to get more female reviewers, blah blah blah."

But how exactly do they hope to do better? "Well, we hope we will find more women writers. We will look for more women." She glances anxiously towards the closed door that leads into the office and starts mouthing to me that she's been told not to say anything by her colleagues and they don't want her stirring it all up again. And yet, being of a naturally honest disposition, Wilmers can't help herself.

Surely that comment about women being too busy doing the household chores to write was spectacularly misguided? "Yes," she concedes. "I think the situation has changed because, certainly, when I was married, I did the washing up, I did the cooking, I looked after the children… I think that's much less the case now. Men do much more so women have less to do. So I think there has been a change but I do think men are more inclined to say 'Oh fuck it. I'll do whatever I want to do now. My career matters. I'll go and write a novel', whereas women are a bit more ho-hummy about their careers.

"All that has really changed since I've been working. When I was at Oxford, there was one woman for every 10 men. Imagine that. I mean, that's quite a statistic. So yes, it's changed a lot and there are many more women writers now in the LRB than there were 40, 50 years ago."

The irony is that Wilmers did end up becoming a secretary. After peripatetic upbringing that took her from America to Portugal, Switzerland, Belgium and England, Wilmers read French and Russian at Oxford. She had ambitions to be a simultaneous interpreter but ended up as a secretary at the offices of Faber & Faber. At the time, T S Eliot was director. "I was quite disappointed with him," she says. "He'd thank people for their 'gracious' letter and I though 'Gosh, what a terrible word.'"

She left Faber and had spells at the Listener magazine and the Times Literary Supplement before co-founding the LRB in 1979, originally as an offshoot of the New York Review of Books .

And all the while, she was coping with single motherhood and the emotional grind of raising a sick child. Wilmers's youngest son, Sam, was born with Riley-Day syndrome, a rare condition that affects the development of the nervous system. Sam was subject to seizures, poor co-ordination, failing eyesight and breathing issues. Today, in his 40s, he is almost blind but "thriving" , Wilmers says fondly, "because he's got such a good character".

Her work, she says, was an integral part of keeping her sane. "I think I found it easier with the job than I would have without. I would have been that much more anxious about my son had I been at home watching him all the time."

She sees her role as editor in the same terms as the simultaneous interpreter she once wanted to be; they are both, she says, "ventriloquial occupations. It's speaking through other people. It's not that I'm not as egomaniacal as everyone else. It's just that I say a bit less."

She has written an acclaimed volume of family history, The Eitingons , but says she lacks the "inventiveness" to write a novel. I mention to her that I recently read Love, Nina , a delightful collection of letters written by Wilmers's former nanny, Nina Stibbe, while she was living with the family in the 80s. In it, Stibbe writes about Wilmers's habit of "piping up with a defining two words" while "everyone else [is] yakking and being boring and pointless".

Does she recognise that in herself? "Yes!" she says. "It's not what I most like about myself but I have to say, yes I do. But… um… it's that I don't necessarily have all the interim sentences. Those words are the two words I have. It's a bit of a defect."

But her facility for distilling a sentence makes her, according to Andrew O'Hagan, one of the great editors. "She and Karl Miller have done more for the British essay than anyone in the past 150 years," he says. "Mary-Kay works harder than any editor I know. And if this were France, they'd be posting the Légion d'honneur through her door every morning."

I wonder whether, at the age of 75, having lived through an era of unequal pay and endemic discrimination, part of Wilmers's attitude to the lack of female reviewers in the LRB is explained by a belief that people should just get on and do things rather than waste time complaining about them? "Yes, absolutely." Her feminism is, she concedes, "old-fashioned… I tend to take exception to men in a big way, but that's a slightly outmoded form of feminism."

Men as a general concept or men as individuals? "Men as a general concept, and individual men when they're behaving like men."

Is that why her marriage failed? "No. I mean, it was probably a foolish idea in the first place. I don't feel antipathy [towards men], I just am inclined to think that…" She breaks off. "It happened earlier this morning. You're talking to a male colleague, trying to get your point of view across, and then another male colleague walks across and agrees sagaciously with what the other man is saying. That always happens."

Does she say anything?

"Yes!"

I can't imagine, given her innate need to get on and do things, that she has altogether embraced the ageing process. "I feel appalled," she admits. "I keep thinking I'll wake up and find I'm not 75 any more." She has noticed a certain stickiness in the whirring of the mental cogs – when trying to convert dollars into sterling, for instance, or when she makes mistakes on the computer "and there's quite a lot of groaning" from her colleagues.

How will she give up this job, I wonder, when the time comes? "With difficulty," she says. "But the editor of the New York Review of Books is 10 years older than me. That's what I cling to."

The London Review of Books might not feature enough women in its pages. But there's no doubt that the one at its helm is pretty formidable.

  • London Review of Books
  • The Observer
  • Julian Assange
  • Hilary Mantel
  • Anne Enright

More on this story

london review of books calendar 2022

The LRB is 40. We never thought it would last this long

london review of books calendar 2022

Sam Miller: ‘What we had felt stronger than most father-son relationships’

london review of books calendar 2022

WB Yeats, the art teacher and a night at the sexologist’s

london review of books calendar 2022

Karl Miller: a man of distinction

london review of books calendar 2022

Karl Miller, founding editor of London Review of Books, dies at 83

london review of books calendar 2022

London Review of Books: all hail this splendid magazine that reveres the written word

london review of books calendar 2022

Why the LRB should stop cooking up excuses over lack of women reviewers

london review of books calendar 2022

Should we celebrate scathing book reviews?

london review of books calendar 2022

Peter Campbell's London Review of Books covers

london review of books calendar 2022

Peter Campbell obituary

Comments (…), most viewed.

  • Podcasts & Videos
  • Newsletters

London Review of Books

More search Options

  • Advanced search
  • Search by contributor
  • Browse our cover archive

Browse by Subject

  • Arts & Culture
  • Biography & Memoir
  • History & Classics
  • Literature & Criticism
  • Philosophy & Law
  • Politics & Economics
  • Psychology & Anthropology
  • Science & Technology
  • Latest Issue
  • Contributors
  • About the LRB
  • Close Readings

Cover Artist

Jon mcnaught, vol. 44 no. 14 · 21 july 2022.

Browse other issues from this year

Jim Berrow , Charles Harris , Thomas Meaney , Rob Wills , Fara Dabhoiwala , Justin Horton , David Lonie , Jonathan Rée , Lawrence Duggan , Celina Fox

Barbara newman, uncertain refuge:  sanctuary in the literature of medieval england  by elizabeth allen. pennsylvania, 311 pp., £52, october 2021, 978 0 8122 5344 3, madeleine schwartz, trial’s end, after roe v. wade, elif batuman, edna bonhomme, hazel v. carby, linda colley, meehan crist, anne enright, lorna finlayson, lisa hallgarten, jayne kavanagh, sophie lewis, maureen n. mclane, erin maglaque, gazelle mba, azadeh moaveni, toril moi, joanne o’leary, niela orr, lauren oyler, susan pedersen, jacqueline rose, madeleine schwartz, arianne shahvisi, chaohua wang, marina warner, bee wilson, emily witt, david runciman, short cuts: at blair’s gathering, james butler, johnson’s downfall, abigail green, in the midst of civilised europe:  the pogroms of 1918-21 and the onset of the holocaust  by jeffrey veidlinger. picador, 480 pp., £30, november 2021, 978 1 5098 6744 8, the chinese question:  the gold rushes and global politics  by mae ngai. norton, 440 pp., £21.99, september 2021, 978 0 393 63416 7, michael ledger-lomas, the last emperor of mexico:  a disaster in the new world  by edward shawcross. faber, 336 pp., £20, january, 978 0 571 36057 4 king leopold’s ghostwriter:  the creation of persons and states in the 19th century  by andrew fitzmaurice. princeton, 592 pp., £35, february, 978 0 691 14869 4 the kaiser and the colonies:  monarchy in the age of empire  by matthew fitzpatrick. oxford, 416 pp., £90, february, 978 0 19 289703 9, michael wood, at the movies: ‘illusions perdues’, rye dag holmboe, speaking east:  the strange and enchanted life of isidore isou  by andrew hussey. reaktion, 328 pp., £20, september 2021, 978 1 78914 492 5, benjamin markovits, blood in the garden:  the flagrant history of the 1990s new york knicks  by chris herring. atria, 368 pp., £23.95, january, 978 1 9821 3211 8, thomas jones, the complete poetry of percy bysshe shelley:  vol. vii  edited by nora crook. johns hopkins, 931 pp., £103.50, may 2021, 978 1 4214 3783 5, anne wagner, at the pinault collection: charles ray, j. robert lennon, the anomaly  by hervé le tellier, translated by adriana hunter. michael joseph, 327 pp., £14.99, january, 978 0 241 54048 0, robert crawford, poem: ‘tank’, michael hofmann, all my cats  by bohumil hrabal, translated by paul wilson. penguin, 96 pp., £7.99, august 2020, 978 0 241 42219 9, diary: shanghai shelf life, download the lrb app.

Read anywhere with the London Review of Books app , available now from the App Store for Apple devices, Google Play for Android devices and Amazon for your Kindle Fire.

Sign up to our newsletter

For highlights from the latest issue, our archive and the blog, as well as news, events and exclusive promotions.

Please enable Javascript

This site requires the use of Javascript to provide the best possible experience. Please change your browser settings to allow Javascript content to run.

london review of books calendar 2022

London Review Bookshop

  • Podcasts & video

The Writers’ Prize 2024

The only international, English-language award nominated and judged purely by other writers

David’s New Year Picks 2024

Until august, gabriel garcia marquez, £16.99, £28.00, henry 'chips' channon: the diaries (volume 1), chips channon, from £15.99, the book of all loves, agustín fernández mallo, £10.99, great and horrible news, blessin adams, from £10.99, frank auerbach: the charcoal heads, barnaby wright, £30.00, time and tide, fiona stafford, £20.00, vulture capitalism, grace blakeley, andy burnham, steve rotheram, £22.00, andrew mcmillan, £14.99, the return of the grey partridge, roger morgan-grenville, edward norfolk, book of the week, neighbors and other stories (faber editions), diane oliver, £9.99.

‘Oliver explores the changing America while beautifully documenting the culture of Black Americans living in the South . . . This breathtaking collection of short stories is a marvel.’ from Tayari Jones’s introduction to  Neighbors and Other Stories

Our Current Bestsellers

Alphabetical diaries, sheila heti, the lodgers, holly pester, édouard louis, £18.99, god complex, rachael allen, £12.99, on giving up, adam phillips, the corporeal life of seafaring, laleh khalili, £14.00, on palestine, noam chomsky, ilan pappé, £8.99, spent light, lara pawson, a philosophy of walking, frédéric gros, follow the money, paul johnson, london’s best independent bookshop.

Find out more about us

OPENING HOURS

Mon to Sat 10 am – 6:30 pm Sun 12 pm – 6 pm

14 Bury Place London WC1A 2JL

+44 (0) 20 7269 9030

Plan your visit

Need a recommendation?

Ask our booksellers

Think Different

Subscribe to the LRB – perfect for anyone with an interest in history, politics, literature and the arts.

The Republic of Consciousness Prize Longlist 2024

Out of earth, sheyla smanioto, avenues by train, farai mudzingwa, of cattle and men, ana paula maia, £11.99, truth & dare, summa kaotica, ventura ametller, krisztina tóth, £12.00, may the tigris grieve for you, emilienne malfatto, the zekameron, the end of august, £18.00, winner of the edge hill short story prize 2023, this train is for, bernie mcgill.

Bernie McGill’s award-winning stories have been widely praised for their emotional depth and lyrical language.

Author of the Month: Sheila Heti

Pure colour, how should a person be, podcasts & video.

Ed Atkins, Steven Zultanski & Emily LaBarge: Sorcerer

Zadie Smith & Adam Thirlwell: The Fraud/The Future Future

Lynne Segal & Amelia Horgan: Lean on Me

Latest from the blog.

Love in all its many forms

Slow January

Glorious Exploits: a reading list

The cake shop.

Honest food, inquisitive flavours and seasonal ingredients handmade for you, by us. Delivery now available.

Discover more

Signed editions

I see buildings fall like lightning, keiran goddard, collected poems, fleur adcock, £25.00, £15.00, glorious exploits, ferdia lennon, come and get it, the new life, the vast extent, lavinia greenlaw, hansel & gretel, simon armitage, where we come from, aniefiok ekpoudom, no judgement, lauren oyler, revolutionary acts, jason okundaye, the rebel's clinic, the rising down, alexandra harris, bite your friends, fernanda eberstadt.

IMAGES

  1. The London Review of Books

    london review of books calendar 2022

  2. London Review of Books UK 5/2022

    london review of books calendar 2022

  3. london review of books calendar 2022

    london review of books calendar 2022

  4. LONDON REVIEW OF BOOKS LRB 20 October 2022 John Kerrigan Long Ling J

    london review of books calendar 2022

  5. london review of books latest issue

    london review of books calendar 2022

  6. Library Books 2022 Calendar Poster

    london review of books calendar 2022

COMMENTS

  1. Schedule of Publication

    Volume 46, 2024 US and Canada Estimated Arrival Dates Download the LRB app Read anywhere with the London Review of Books, available now from the

  2. LSE Review of Books

    LSE Review of Books the latest social science books reviewed by academics and experts Latest posts. Book Reviews. Is Artificial Intelligence Racist? The Ethics of AI and the Future of Humanity - review February 14th, 2024. 95 Britain and Ireland. Q and A with Caroline Derry on Agatha Christie, lesbians and criminal courts ...

  3. 2022 in books: highlights for the year ahead

    2022 in books: highlights for the year ahead Clockwise from top: Margaret Atwood, Dolly Parton, Hanya Yanagihara, Malorie Blackman, Candice Carty-Williams, Marian Keyes, Douglas Stuart, Travis...

  4. London Review of Books

    London Review of Books December 2022 Alan Bennett contemplates losing friends and the Queen in 2022 diary The playwright details Barry Cryer's comedic phone calls and reveals what her majesty...

  5. London Review of Books

    28 Little Russell Street London WC1A 2HN E-mail: [email protected] Phone: +44 (0)20 7209 1141 Since 1979, London Review of Books has focused on protecting and promoting the tradition of the literary and intellectual essay in English. Each issue contains essays,

  6. What will we be reading next year? Five biggest trends from the London

    Wed 13 Apr 2022 08.56 EDT Last modified on Wed 13 Apr 2022 08.58 EDT After two years off because of the Covid-19 pandemic, the London book fair , one of the biggest international literary events ...

  7. London Review of Books

    History. The London Review of Books was founded in 1979, when publication of The Times Literary Supplement was suspended during the year-long lock-out at The Times. Its founding editors were Karl Miller, then professor of English at University College London; Mary-Kay Wilmers, formerly an editor at The Times Literary Supplement; and Susannah Clapp, a former editor at Jonathan Cape.

  8. London Review of Books

    Book reviews and essays (and much more online) renowned for their fearlessness, range and elegance. My Account; Sign in; Menu; Search; ... As the London Review of Books celebrates its 40th anniversary, ... From June 2022 to June 2023, the LRB has been collaborating with the World Weather Network, a constellation of weather stations set up by 28 ...

  9. London Review of Books Subscribe

    The London Review of Books is dedicated to carrying on the tradition of the English essay. In this respect, it is not very different from one of the great 19th-century periodicals. It gives its contributors the space and freedom to develop their ideas at length and in depth.

  10. Contents · Vol. 44 No. 8 · 21 April 2022

    This Is the BBC: Entertaining the Nation, Speaking for Britain? 1922-2022 by Simon J. Potter. Oxford, 288 pp., £20, April, 978 0 19 289852 4. ... Find out more about the London Review of Books app. Sign up to our newsletter. For highlights from the latest issue, our archive and the blog, as well as news, events and exclusive promotions. ...

  11. About Us

    Opened in 2003 by the London Review of Books in the heart of Bloomsbury, just a Rosetta Stone's throw from the British Museum, the London Review Bookshop has now established itself as an essential part of the capital's cultural life, a place for people who love books to meet, talk, drink excellent tea and coffee, consume delicious food from th...

  12. The London Review of Books Store

    The London Review of Books is Europe's leading magazine of culture and ideas. Published twice a month, it provides a space for some of the world's best writers to explore a wide variety of subjects in exhilarating detail - from art and politics to science and technology via history and philosophy, not to mention fiction and poetry.

  13. Events

    Events Twice a week or so, we turn our shop into a miniature auditorium and sometimes a cinema in which authors talk about and read from their work, meet their readers, show films and engage in lively debate about literature, history, politics and everything in between. Find out here who is scheduled to appear. London's best independent bookshop

  14. How I used to love and now hate the London Review of Books

    I would read the London Review of Books from front to back. I had to read it all, from front to back. I couldn't miss any part of what I then saw as the absolute requirement of reading the London Review of Books and absorbing all of the information contained in the London Review of Book s (excluding classifieds and incidental advertising about books, copywriters, book-based dating etc).

  15. What you need to know for the 2024 tax-filing season

    Millions of Canadians file an income tax and benefit return every year. For the 2023 tax-filing season, Canadians filed more than 32 million tax returns, and more than 92% of them were filed electronically.There were also more than 18 million refunds processed, and Canadians who had a tax refund received an average of $2,262!

  16. Our Current Bestsellers

    Lara Pawson £10.99 Add to wishlist Buy From the publisher: A woman contemplates her hand-me-down toaster and suddenly the whole world erupts into her kitchen, in all its brutality and loveliness: global networks of resource extraction and forced labour, technologies of industrial murder, histories… Signed copies

  17. Is the LRB the best magazine in the world?

    The Paris Review, by contrast, achieved a 50/50 parity of men and women, while the New York Times book review published 725 women and 894 men. It is not just the review pages: over its history ...

  18. Contents · Vol. 44 No. 14 · 21 July 2022

    David Runciman Short Cuts: At Blair's Gathering James Butler Johnson's Downfall Abigail Green In the Midst of Civilised Europe: The Pogroms of 1918-21 and the Onset of the Holocaust by Jeffrey Veidlinger Andrew Liu The Chinese Question: The Gold Rushes and Global Politics by Mae Ngai Michael Ledger-Lomas

  19. London Review of Books by London Review of Books

    A colleague gave me a copy of the London Review of Books (2021 Vol. 3 No 5, actually, but that edition wasn't in Goodreads for some reason). It was nice to spend my time at the café, a mammoth newspaper -- full of culture, inquiry, and bibliophilia -- unfurled before me like a flag...or better yet, a mast, carrying me onward toward new intellectual and literary adventures.

  20. London Review Bookshop

    OPENING HOURS. Mon to Sat 10 am - 6:30 pm. Sun 12 pm - 6 pm. FIND US. 14 Bury Place. London. WC1A 2JL. +44 (0) 20 7269 9030.